Academic Staff

IMSISS has a broad-based teaching and supervisory team that represents the multidisciplinary approach to security offered by each of the three degree awarding partner universities.

 

University of Glasgow

Dr Luca Anceschi
Senior Lecturer in Central Asian Studies, School of Social and Political Science (CEES) luca.anceschi@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: politics and international relations of post-Soviet Central Asia, Geopolitics of energy and climate change, leadership and regime change in central Asia and Middle East.

Dr Julie Berg
Lecturer in Criminology, School of Social and Political Science (Sociology) julie.berg@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: innovations in security governance, collaborative policing and policing networks, community safety, as well as issues of legitimacy, accountability and democratic security for the public good.

Dr Eamonn Butler
Senior Lecturer, School of Social and Political Science (CEES) eamonn.butler@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: European Union; Euro-Atlantic Integration, Security and International Relations in Central and Eastern Europe, energy security, security institutions.

Dr Ammon Cheskin
Senior Lecturer in Nationalism and Russian Politics, School of Social and Political Science (CEES) ammon.cheskin@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: Russian soft power in Ukraine, Russian foreign policy, Ukrainian politics

Dr Adrian Florea
Lecturer in International Relations, School of Social and Political Science (CEES) adrian.florea@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interest: Civil war and ethnic conflict, Secessionism, Rebel governance, Violence and political contention, State (un)making, International security

Professor Beatrice Heuser
Professor of International Relations, School of Social and Political Science (Politics) beatrice.heuser@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: Strategic Studies, defence and security policy making, especially in NATO or EU countries, warfare and the laws of war, the evolution of ideas relating to war, peace, security, defence, the soldier and the body politic.

Professor Andrew Hoskins
Chair in Global Security, College of Social Sciences (Sociology) andrew.hoskins@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: Emergent digital society: media, memory, war, conflict, security, and privacy, linked to interplay and impact of contemporary media and memory ecologies.

Professor Peter Jackson
Chair in Global Security, College of Arts (History) peter.jackson@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: Intelligence and Security Studies; Franco-British Defence Co-operation in the Twentieth Century; The Rise of Modern Intelligence Organisations

Dr Andrew Judge
University Teacher in International Relations, School of Social and Political Science (Politics) andrew.judge@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: Security Studies, European Union Politics and Policymaking, and Energy Politics

Professor Rebecca Kay
Professor of Russian Gender Studies, School of Social and Political Science (CEES) rebecca.kay@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: Migration and Asylum, Social Security, Gender and Security, Insecurity and Vulnerability

Dr Alex Marshall
Senior Lecturer in History and Convenor of the Scottish Centre for War Studies, School of Humanities (History) alexander.marshall@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: Russian/Soviet military and political history, The Caucasus & Central Asia, 19th & 20th Century Afghanistan, Counter-Insurgency and Revolutionary War, Drug smuggling

Dr Cian O’Driscoll
Senior Lecturer in International Politics, School of Social and Political Science (Politics) cian.o’driscoll@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: Ethics of War and Peace, Classical and Contemporary Just War Tradition, English School IR Theory

Professor David Smith
Professor of Baltic Studies, School of Social and Political Science and Alec Nove Chair (CEES) david.smith@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: Contemporary history, politics and international relations of the Baltic States

Dr Damien Van Puyvelde
Lecturer in Intelligence and International Security, School of Humanities (History) Damien.VanPuyvelde@glasgow.ac.uk
Research Interests: Intelligence and security studies, with a focus on issues of democratic governance and interagency coordination.

 

Dublin City University

Dr James Fitzgerald
Lecturer in Terrorism Studies james.fitzgerald@dcu.ie
Research Interests: everyday resistances to (counter)terrorism; the political ontology of terrorism; and exploring (in)orthodoxies of “academic writing” and the types of knowledge

Dr Ken McDonagh
Lecturer in International Relations kenneth.mcdonagh@dcu.ie
Research Interests: EU security, Foreign policy and Identity, US Foreign policyy, Counter-terrorism and security discourse, and the politics of risk in international security governance

Dr Maura Conway
Professor in Law and Government maura.conway@dcu.ie
Research Interests: online tracing of extremist networks on Twitter; violent online political extremist material; extreme Right online forum.

Dr Vicky Conway
Lecturer in Law and Government Vicky.conway@dcu.ie
Research Interests: Policing, police culture and police accountability

Dr Niamh Gaynor
Associate Professor Niamh.gaynor@gcu.ie
Research Interests: Peacebuilding and local Governance in Africa, politics of inequality and development

Dr Walt Kilroy
Associate Director of Institute for International Conflict Resolution and Reconstruction walt.kilroy@dcu.ie
Research Interests: Development, conflict, and post-war reconstruction, and the interactions between these processes, Africa, conflict and advocacy

Dr Gezim Visoka
Assistant Professor of Peace and Conflict Studies gezim.visoka@dcu.ie
Research Interests: Post-conflict peacebuilding, international statebuilding and reconstruction, global governance, European foreign policy, transitional justice, foreign policy of small states

Dr Donnacha Ó Beacháin
Associate Professor, donnacha.obeachain@dcu.ie
Research Interests: Post-Soviet politics, Irish Studies, foreign policy and unrecognised states, post-Soviet protracted conflicts

Dr Paola Rivetti
Assistant Professor in Politics of the Middle East and International Relations paola.rivetti@dcu.ie
Research Interests: Government of societies and polities in the Middle East; transformation of the state in the region; Iranian domestic politics; diaspora politics

Dr Diarmuid Torney
Lecturer in International Relations diarmuid.torney@dcu.ie
Research Interests: Comparative and global politics of climate change and energy, particularly in the European Union, China, and India, as well as in small European states

Dr Jules Gaspard
Lecturer in Intelligence Studies jules.gaspard@dcu.ie
Research Interests: Intelligence, counter espionage, United States

 

Charles University Prague

Dr Vít Střítecký
Assistant Professor of Security Studies vit.stritecky@fsv.cuni.cz
Research Interests: technology and security, defence industry, European Security

Professor Oldřich Bureš
Associate Professor of Security Studies oldrich.bures@fsv.cuni.cz
Research Interests: Fight against terrorism, EU counter-terrorism policies, conflict studies

Professor Nik Hynek
Associate Professor of Security Studies nik.hynek@fsv.cuni.cz
Research Interests: Human security, critical security studies, strategic studies

Dr Tomáš Karásek
Assistant Professor of Security Studies tomas.karasek@fsv.cuni.cz
Research Interests: Euro-Atlantic security, East Asian security, conflict studies

Dr Onřej Ditrych
Assistant Professor of Security Studies ondrej.ditrych@fsv.cuni.cz
Research Interests: critical security studies, critical terrorism studies, EU neighbourhood policy

Dr Tomáš Kučera
Assistant Professor of Security Studies tomas.kucera@fsv.cuni.cz
Research Interests: war studies, military sociology, civil-military relations

Dr Emil Souleimanov
Associate Professor of Security Studies souleimanov@fsv.cuni.cz
Research Interests: Security and asymmetric conflict (civil war and ethnic conflict; small wars; insurgency and counterinsurgency, radicalization); ethnography/micro-dynamics of political violence, with emphasis on asymmetric warfare; politics of memory; qualitative methods